PT Distinction vs Trainerize (2026): Prices, Branded App, Who Fits
A neutral 2026 head-to-head of PT Distinction and Trainerize: how each prices (included clients vs seat tiers), what 10, 30 and 75 clients cost, branded app options, add-ons and who should pick which.

PT Distinction vs Trainerize: the short answer
PT Distinction charges a flat monthly plan with a set number of clients included ($19.90, $59.90 or $89.90) plus a small fee for each extra client, and its Pro and Master plans include your own branded iOS and Android apps. Trainerize starts with a free plan for 1 client and then prices its Pro plan by client seats ($25 a month for 5 clients, $135 a month for 50), with the branded app as a $169 one-time setup on Pro and a full white-label app on Studio Plus ($275 a month). At 50 clients PT Distinction Master ($89.90) costs less than Trainerize's published $135 and already includes a branded app; Trainerize is the easier free start and has the bigger add-on menu.
This comparison uses only the prices each vendor publishes, checked on 25 September 2026, following our comparison method. Trainera publishes this page and competes with both, which is why every figure here comes from the vendors' own pages.
How each one prices: two different models
The two tools look similar in features but charge in different ways, and that difference decides most of the cost.
- Included-client pricing (PT Distinction): a flat plan fee covers a fixed number of clients, and every client above that adds a fixed monthly fee. Basic includes 3 clients ($6.00 per extra client), Pro includes 25 ($2.40 per extra), Master includes 50 ($1.60 per extra).
- Per-client seat pricing (Trainerize): you buy a seat tier sized to your client count, and the price steps up when you move to a bigger tier. Pro seat options are 5, 15, 30, 50, 75, 100 and 200 clients; Studio Plus starts at 500 clients.
Billing also differs. PT Distinction shows monthly pricing only, with no commitments or minimum terms. Trainerize's pricing cards show annual-billed prices by default; annual billing saves about 10%, which is why you may see $9, $23 or $248 on its page and $10, $25 or $275 here.
Published prices side by side
Here is every plan both vendors publish, monthly, in USD, taxes extra.
| Plan | Monthly price | Clients included | Branded app |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trainerize Basic | $0 | 1 | No |
| Trainerize Grow | $10 ($9 billed yearly) | 2 | No |
| Trainerize Pro | $25 for 5 clients ($23 billed yearly); $135 for 50 | 5 to 200 by seat tier | $169 one-time setup (logo and colours) |
| Trainerize Studio Plus | $275 ($248 billed yearly) | 500 and up | Full white-label app, included |
| PT Distinction Basic | $19.90 | 3, then $6.00 per extra client | No (standard app) |
| PT Distinction Pro | $59.90 | 25, then $2.40 per extra client | Own iOS and Android apps, included |
| PT Distinction Master | $89.90 | 50, then $1.60 per extra client | Own iOS and Android apps, included |
Prices checked on 25 September 2026 from each vendor's pricing page.
Sources: PT Distinction pricing and Trainerize pricing. For a deeper look at each vendor alone, see PT Distinction pricing in 2026 and Trainerize pricing in 2026.
Monthly cost at 10, 30 and 75 clients
At 30 and 75 clients PT Distinction costs $71.90 and $129.90 a month with a branded app included; for Trainerize we can only confirm the published $135 at 50 clients, so the exact 10, 30 and 75 seat prices have to be read from its seat selector.
| Clients | PT Distinction (cheapest plan) | Trainerize Pro |
|---|---|---|
| 10 | $59.90 on Pro (25 included). Basic would be $19.90 + 7 x $6.00 = $61.90 | 15-seat tier: price not captured in our check |
| 30 | $71.90 on Pro ($59.90 + 5 x $2.40) | 30-seat tier: price not captured in our check |
| 75 | $129.90 on Master ($89.90 + 25 x $1.60). Pro would be $179.90 | 75-seat tier: price not captured in our check |
Prices checked on 25 September 2026 from each vendor's pricing page.
How to read this: Trainerize's Pro ladder runs from $25 at 5 clients to $135 at 50 clients (the figure its own FAQ gives), so a 10-client or 30-client coach lands somewhere on that ladder. We do not print a number we could not verify. Add-ons come on top: $10 a month for the Stripe Integrated Payments add-on if you want clients to pay inside Trainerize, $20 or $45 a month for Advanced Nutrition Coaching, $10 a month for Video Coaching, $25 a month for the Business add-on and $169 once for the Pro branded app. On PT Distinction, selling packages and taking payments are listed on every plan, and the branded app is already in Pro and Master.
Two break-even points are worth knowing: PT Distinction Pro becomes cheaper than Basic from 10 clients, and Master becomes cheaper than Pro from 38 clients. The practical takeaway: from about 25 clients up, PT Distinction's included-client model gets cheaper per client the more you grow, while Trainerize's cost follows the seat tier you pick. Below 3 clients Trainerize's free plan wins outright. For the same maths across 30 platforms, see the fitness software pricing index.
Branded app: what you actually get
PT Distinction includes your own custom-branded Android and iOS apps on Pro and Master; Trainerize offers a logo-and-colours branded app on Pro for a $169 one-time fee and a fully white-labelled app in its own store listing on Studio Plus.
A white-label app is an app published under your brand, so clients download your name rather than the software vendor's. Two practical notes: publishing under your own name in the App Store requires an Apple Developer account, which Trainerize's page puts at $99 a year paid to Apple, and PT Distinction's Basic plan uses the standard app without custom branding. If a branded app is the main reason you are shopping, compare both with other options in our white-label fitness app comparison.
Features that matter for the decision
Both cover the core of online coaching: programs, a client app, nutrition and messaging. The differences sit in what is included versus sold as an add-on.
| Need | PT Distinction | Trainerize |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | No (1-month free trial) | Yes, 1 client; plus 30-day trial with unlimited clients |
| AI program building | AI program builder from Basic | AI Workout Builder from Grow; FitMetrics AI add-on from $6 per client |
| Nutrition coaching | Included from Basic | Meal and macro tracking from Grow; Advanced Nutrition Coaching $20 or $45 a month |
| Taking payments | Sell packages and take payments from Basic | Stripe Integrated Payments $10 a month (included in Studio) |
| Automation | Automated workflows from Basic | Not listed in our pricing check |
| Video | Not listed in our pricing check | Video Coaching $10 a month; group video calls on Studio Plus |
| Website | Website integration on Pro and Master | Not listed in our pricing check |
| Payment processing fees | Not published | Not published |
| Languages | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page |
Prices checked on 25 September 2026 from each vendor's pricing page.
If you coach in a language other than English, test the client app in your language during the free trial, since neither pricing page states which languages the client app supports. Our guide for coaches who do not work in English covers what to test.
Who should pick which
Pick PT Distinction if you want a branded app at a mid-range price and expect to grow past 25 clients; pick Trainerize if you want to start free, need add-ons such as video coaching, or plan to scale into a studio.
- PT Distinction is best for: coaches with 10 to 75+ clients who want their own app on Pro or Master, nutrition, automation and payments included, and simple monthly billing with no minimum term.
- PT Distinction is not the right fit for: coaches who want a permanent free plan, or anyone who needs features priced separately so they can pay only for what they use.
- Trainerize is best for: new coaches testing online coaching with 1 or 2 clients, coaches who want a large add-on and integration ecosystem, and multi-coach studios heading toward 500 clients on Studio Plus.
- Trainerize is not the right fit for: budget-focused coaches who would need payments, advanced nutrition and a branded app, because each is a separate charge on Pro.
Still weighing a third option? Trainerize vs TrueCoach and PT Distinction alternatives cover the nearest competitors.
If neither fits
Trainera is another option, and it is built differently: trainers pay per plan, never per client. In the US that is Free (up to 3 clients, no card), Starter $19.99 (up to 10), Pro $49.99 (up to 30) and Business $99 (up to 75) a month, with yearly billing on every paid plan; other countries have their own prices on the pricing page. On paid plans clients see your branding inside the Trainera client app, and the app works in 26 languages. It is not the right fit if you need your own branded store app at a mid-range price: on Trainera that is Enterprise, while PT Distinction includes it on Pro. Coaching payments taken inside Trainera carry a platform fee of 8% on Free and Starter, 5% on Pro and 3% on Business, or you can use your own Stripe account. Free migration help covers programs and clients from Trainerize and similar platforms, and you can test it with up to 3 real clients before moving anyone else.
Related reading
Frequently Asked Questions
Is PT Distinction cheaper than Trainerize?
How much does PT Distinction cost for 30 clients?
Does Trainerize include a branded app?
Does PT Distinction have a free plan like Trainerize?
Which one should an online coach with 75 clients choose?
Keep Reading
Run your coaching business on Trainera
Your own branded coaching app - clients, plans and payments in one place
Free up to 3 clients, no card. Web, iOS and Android under your brand - and we move your existing clients and plans across for free.
1000+ clients coached on Trainera